Chief Executive Officer

Rosemary Mkandawire
Rosemary has 22 years of experience as an Institutional Development Practitioner and Financial Management Specialist ▪ Fellow of the Chartered Certified Accountants (FCCA) ▪ Chancellor College – read for general degree in Sciences and English (1976 to 1979), left for London School of Accountancy to pursue a qualification in accountancy ▪ UCT Graduate School of Business – 2006 to 2009 – Advanced Strategic Leadership Relevant Expertise ▪ Leading and Motivating Teams ▪ Financial Management and Reporting ▪ Enterprise Risk Management ▪ Business Environment Analysis ▪ Has served on several boards a few of which include: Malawi Revenue Authority as Board Chairperson, Reserve Bank of Malawi, PPPC, and Blantyre Hotels as Chairperson of Appointments Committee, National Bank of Malawi, Afrox Malawi, Standard Bank of Malawi as Chairperson of Audit Committee.
She was part of the small group of men and women drawn from the public and private sector involved in setting up the Privatisation Commission of Malawi, now PPPC (1998/99) ▪ Founding trustees for Malawi Blood Transfusion Trust ▪ Was involved in the recruitment of a professional core of executive directors of Malawi Revenue Authority which was formed to oversee and improve the functions of Customs & Excise, Income Tax and now Value Added Tax ▪ In February 2005, appointed as a Commissioner to assist in setting up a Secretariat of the Competition and Fair Trading Commission ▪ Was in the Council and active member of the Society of Accountants in Malawi now known as ICAM. In 2000 when she was chairperson of the Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Committee, her committee succeeded to make CPD programmes that combined popularity, relevance and financial reward for SOCAM such that not only did SOCAM become financially self-sufficient but also made surpluses ▪ Was honoured to represent SOCAM at the International Assembly of ACCA from 1998 to 2000 ▪ Was Examiner and Assessor of the joint ACCA/PAEC Accountancy Diploma qualification from 1985 to 1994.